Berlack/Astle Memorial Award


The Berlack/Astle Memorial Award is a grant program named in memory of U.S. Ski Team athletes Ronnie Berlack and Bryce Astle whose lives were lost in an in-bounds avalanche in 2015. Their legacy lives on through the grant program.

Individual grants are awarded from a pool of funds set aside each year ($5000) by WCS. Multiple need based awards may be made annually based on recommendations from the Eastern and Western Region leadership, the regions where Ronnie and Bryce were associated. The goal to the award is to provide financial assistance that enables athletes to participate projects and competitions that would be out of reach without the additional funding.

Applications are accepted on a rolling basis through the Eastern and Western regional offices.

World Cup Supply began in 1991, providing ski areas and events with supplies and innovative solutions. As a part of its mission, it seeks to play a role enhancing safety in alpine skiing, ski racing and other actions sports as a leading authority on race hill safety. It has offices in Bradford, VT and Salt Lake City, UT


Berlack/Astle Memorial Award Recipients

2023    Mia Hunt, University of Denver

2023    Charlie Koenig, Carrabasset Valley Academy

2022    Maddie Kaiserman, Park City Ski & Snowboard Club

2021     Gray Flanagan, Green Mountain Valley School

2020     Not awarded

2019     Madison Kostoss, NYSEF/Northwood School & Jonathan Davis, Green Mountain Valley School

2018     Georgie Sullivan, Sugar Bowl Academy & Luke Kearing, Sugarloaf Ski Club

2017     Kaitlyn Harsch, Ski & Snowboard Club Vail & Matthieu Cote, NYSEF/Northwood School

2016     Kate Bridges, Nub’s Nob Ski Team & Hayden Terjeson, Sun Valley Ski Education Foundation

2015     Fast Skier Junior Alpine Scholarship renamed to Berlack/Astle Memorial Award

WCS Fast Skier Junior Alpine Scholarship

2014     Samantha McClellan, Green Mountain Valley School & Nathan Gunesch, Mount Hood Academy

2013     Hannah Utter, Green Mountain Valley School & Michael Cooper, Sugar Bowl Academy

2012     Sky Kelsey, Aspen Valley Ski Club

2011     Andrew Black, Schweitzer Alpine Race School

2010     Karina Schwartznau, Crystal Mountain Alpine Club

2009    Stephanie Schott, Rowmark Acdemy